Tapestry by Randi Kielland from a drawing by Gerh. Munthe
In 1503 the royal castle on Slottsfjellet was burnt
to the ground. Since then the hill has been used as grounds for outdoor
activities and festivals. But never before have such preparations
been made for a festival as for the town's 1100th anniversary.
It is a pleasure for the editors to publish this brochure
on Slottsfjellet in 1971. We are particularly grateful for the valuable
contributions we have received. Architect Gerhard Fischer has increased
our knowledge of Tunsberghus.
Writer Kåre Holt has brought the people
in the castle alive for us. His poem about the Lady who came a-walking
is printed here for the first time. It was song to Finn Ludt's melody
in a TV programme about Tønsberg last New Year's Eve. It pleases
us that the brochure on Slottsfjellet can end with a love song. The drawing
on the cover and the other drawings of Tunsberghus were made by architect
Nils Petter Solheim. Our thanks for them as well.
Tønsberg, April 1971
Go to: | Top
| Front page | Dream
and reality >